7/31/12 at Yankee Stadium

One day after going to the Renegades game, I was here on Tuesday with Rich:

ImageUnfortunately, I had to wait for Rich to get home from work. But, I made record time down to Woodlawn to catch the 4 and get to Yankee Stadium by 5:45. When we got in, I headed over to the left field bleachers because the lovely Yankee Stadium security kicked everyone out at 5:50. They used to not do this in right field, but it’s Yankee Stadium so lets treat it like a prison. Here’s where I wound up:

Image…and failed to get Troy Patton and Zach Britton to toss me a ball. I got a few waves though.

I looked over to my left and saw Tommy Hunter and Wei-Yin Chen playing pepper:

Image…and failed there too. Both looked up at me, but did nothing. I did, however, see Zack Hample ask Chen in Taiwanese for a ball, so there’s that. He recognized me and struck up a conversation, which I thought was cool as well.

Then that was it for BP. I headed over to left field to the bullpen, since the right field bullpen only had one ball hit into it which was given away by a security guard:

ImageI really wanted an Orioles commemorative ball since this would probably be my last chance this season, and I didn’t want to bank on the Orioles coming to New York in April and trying to get a leftover. I also wasn’t going to make it down to Camden so, it had to be today. The groundskeeper in left threw one up to a fan, and then I politely asked him for one and he told me he was fresh out.

Hmph.

I then decided to head up here and try the “Harkey”:

Image… and finally got him to throw me one, so I was on the board for the day. I almost lost it, as someone lunged in front of me and almost got it. I leaned a little more forward than he did, and managed to get it. He then proceeded to tell me how he didn’t want to get in my way, when in fact he did. But he was a cool guy and congratulated me on the snag. Here’s the ball:

ImageAnd here is the view from our seats:

ImageThe Yankees managed to take a 5-0 lead in the 1st inning, only to give it away in the 2nd by allowing 7 runs. It was that kind of a game. We headed down behind home plate in the 8th to watch Ichiro Suzuki hit:

Image

Cool.

Then I went over by the Oriole bullpen in the bottom of the 9th to try and get a commemorative from coach Bill Castro:

ImageNow. It was sort of quiet at this point, so I struck up a conversation. I asked Castro if they had any commemorative balls. He looked at me like I had three heads. I simplified the question and said “the ones with the Camden Yards stamps on them?” and he rummaged around the ball bag and held a commemorative up. I gave him a thumbs up and said could I please have one and pointed to the Orioles logo on my shirt, and he threw it up. I didn’t expect him to sail one, so it landed perfectly in this womans lap sitting to the right of me. It fell on the ground, and she picked it up. Then she gave me the snarkiest smirk on her face, I swear I wanted to lose it. And she was going to give it to me until her son told her to keep the said ball that was totally unintended for her. I would have given it to them if it was the other way around. So I went back to Castro and asked for another because a lady took it. He said “Sorry, kid”.

Yeah. So the game ended, final score: Orioles 11, Yankees 5. After the game, I asked him one more time to try again. He looked at me and said “You better catch this one”, so I stood back and he flipped it up to me.

ImageSweet.

I now have 4 commemoratives this year (BAL, LAD, NYM, MIA) and need 2 more to go (BOS, HOU). It felt great to get that one.

I headed home and ended the day with the 2 I snagged.

Image

  • 2 balls at this game
  • 56 career balls
  • 5 games in a row at Yankee with a ball
  • Yankees record when I attend:  32-21
  • Orioles record when I attend: 5-2

Not sure when my next game is.

6 Comments

Chris, congrats on the commemorative! I’m hoping to get to a game this Wednesday in Milwaukee, but I have yet to see.
Paul

thanks. it was nice to get one. hopefully you get to go

Chris, I never made it to the game in Milwaukee, but am going to be at Target Field on Monday. I should be able to get the post up by Tuesday or Wednesday.
-Paul
http://apieceofthegame.mlblogs.com/

Ah, bummer. At least you’re going Monday, should be a good read! I’m going to Mets/Braves Saturday, Rangers/Yankees Monday, then Red Sox/Yankees Friday. Busy week!

Sounds busy. Looking forward to reading about it.
-Paul
http://apieceofthegame.mlblogs.com/

Every weekend i used to paay a visit this web site, as i wish for enjoyment, as this this web site conations actually nice
funny data too.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 291 other followers

