3/29/14 at Olympic Stadium (NYM @ TOR)

Game 2 of the Olympic Stadium series was going to be as exciting as the previous day. The game plan for today was to meet Todd and his kids, Avi, and Michel at the same gate and hope that batting practice would be scheduled for today, a day game after a night game. I figured it would still be on, since the series was a special occasion. After the quick subway ride up to the stadium, we were in the familiar spot again waiting for the gates to open: Image When the gates opened, I ran inside and was excited to see the cages were still up. The Blue Jays were off the field already if they even hit, and the Mets were out tossing: Image Since there was nobody hitting in the cage immediately, I decided to head over and find Scott Rice and see if he remembered his promise from the day before. He was over on the end tossing: Image Do you see the two balls in his back pockets? He turned around when he got the chance, saw me, and tossed me one and just like that, I was already on the board on a day where there was an expected crowd of 50,000 people plus. Not bad. To make things more exciting, it was a Red Sox  Fenway Park 100th Anniversary ball! 

BP was about to start, so I headed out to left field: Image One of the negatives about this game was that since there was an incident in the game before, the cross aisles were off limits to fans. this was going to put a huge blow in everybody’s totals, since it would take quite a home run to reach the seats without landing in the cross aisles or below. There were also too many fans for toss ups. It was going to be a tough day for sure. I’ll show you what I mean: Image See the cross aisles? Empty. A few minutes later, someone on the Mets who I couldn’t identify hit a homer that landed in front of the bleachers, and rolled under the seats and back to the back end where there really isn’t anything. I ran up the stairs, looked over the back railing and noticed that it rolled to a stop by the “Genie Boom:” Image This semester I happened to be taking a course in French. I knew it would come in handy at some point on this trip. Walking by was a newspaper photographer (I assume, he had a camera in his hand and looked official). I called over to him…

Excusez-moi, monsieur! 

Puis-je avoir la balle s’il vous plaît!

S’il vous plaît!

Merci beaucoup!

He tossed the ball up to me, but it was too short. I was nervous others would catch on and take it from me, but he got it to me in time: Image As you can see, it was a Marlins Park commemorative. Shortly afterwards, the Mets jogged off and BP was over. 

We all decided that it was time to explore Olympic Stadium, something I didn’t get to do the day before. This was alright with me, since it was still a spring training game. Kellan wanted to have a catch (maybe it was Todd) in the concourse, so to kill some time that’s where we all headed: Image …the best part of this was that several security guards walked right past us, even through us at times and didn’t say a word. Could you imagine doing that at Yankee Stadium? You’d spend the night at Rikers. We kept walking around, and I saw a lot of Expos gear: Image I somehow got down low by the field for pregame warmups, along with Avi and Greg. Avi snagged something special from Stade Olympique as well, but you’ll have to ask him about it. Nobody got a pregame toss up, so we decided before we get kicked out of the seats, we all wanted to head up to the furthest spot up in left field: Image It was hilarious sitting up there. It was dusty. The seats were dirty. We all actually got kicked out of our seats in the last row of the stadium. Cross that off the bucket list. It was time to walk around the entire stadium to the other side. Check out the concourse: Image Weird. Ugly. Bizarre. Beautiful. 

Check out the cool panorama I took from right field: Image The structure is so interesting to me. You have the arching step like roof, the blue colored roof, the weird lighting structures, the hanging speakers, the random center field scoreboard jutting out and obstructing view… I loved it. it’s a shame there isn’t more baseball here. On the concourse, they even had doors built into the walls: Image  When we got down to the second level, we went behind the right field bleachers until we were told to leave: Image I decided to try and snag a ball over where todd did the day before in left: Image I didn’t have much luck. We did however, see a Melky Cabrera home run come sort of our way as you can see on tv: Image That’s us circled, obviously. There’s also all of this random stuff behind the center field batter’s eye: Image Renovating for future MLB games? I can only hope. By this point, we missed like 7 innings of the game. We headed down by the dugouts for the end of the game, and the Blue Jays pulled off the win. Final score: Image

I also forgot to throw in this great panorama Todd  took, since I always take one in new stadiums but forgot here for some reason: Image

I saw this on one of the seats… wishful thinking, perhaps:  Image …since it rained/snowed the day before, and today was sunny (but still 29 degrees), i had to walk around the outside and take some pictures like I always do. Check it out: Image 

We then navigated through about a foot of snow and ice, and got over to this area which was a lovely place to take some pictures: Image 

Image

We walked together and hung out on the subway, and said our goodbyes (for now). Image

  • 2 balls at this game
  • 3 balls this season
  • 3 commemorative balls
  • 188 career balls

 

 

4 Comments

This is a nice stadium

I agree. I’m glad you like it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 300 other followers

