8/11/12 at Citi Field (ATL @ NYM)

Here I was Saturday (with long entry lines):

ImageI went to this game with my two friends, Brian and Rich. They elected to stay in the parking lot and drink. I myself, was having BP withdrawal so I headed in. I ran up the stairs of the Jackie Robinson Rotunda, around the 3rd base concourse, and wound up here:

Image

Surprisingly, the stadium wasn’t that packed yet. The fact that the Mets have been playing so poorly might’ve helped. Anyway, here was my view to my right:

ImageThe Party City deck was empty, so balls that landed there would either ricochet towards me, or go back on the field. And the seats were empty so I could run around freely to get anything I missed. Of course, the Mets didn’t hit anything noteworthy in my direction. Someone hit a ball towards me that banged off the wall, and then I took this picture:

Image…Pictured walking back towards all the other players is Mets pitcher Josh Edgin, who threw me this:

Image…sweet. (Look at those marks on the ball, pretty, no?)

A few minutes later that was it for the Mets portion of BP as the Braves came out:

ImageA few minutes later Paul Janish (who was hitting BOMBS) lined one into the gap, and Reed Johnson (pictured, #11) tossed me my second ball of the day.

I decided to move over to the left field corner:

Image… and came up empty. For the record, 2 homers landed right where I had moved from. Sigh. (Still looking for that in-the-air catch…)

I moved over to the foul side of left field to try and get toss-ups. First my view to the right –

Image

And behind me:

ImageNo competition at all! However, Luis Avilan and Chrishtian Martinez were set on ignoring everyone. Also, here is Ben Sheets:

ImageSee the ball clearly in his pocket? I asked him if he wanted to have a catch with me (Keep in mind I’m in Braves gear) and he made a motion as to say “I don’t have a ball”. When he did. And then took it out five minutes later and threw it to a Met fan. S*** list for you now, Benjamin. I didn’t even want the ball, I wanted to have a catch. Whatevs.

I headed over to my usual spot for pregame warmups and here was the scene:

ImageAs busy as things looked, it wasn’t very busy. A lot of stretching, and nobody loosened up by throwing. The trainer took the 3 balls they had out there and brought them back to the dugout with him. It was dead for a bit, so security guards asked a Braves fan if he wanted to take a picture in the visiting dugout. That was fair. Then for the next 10 minutes, this was the most exciting thing going on:

Image….yeah. Then they walked off and that was it for pregame. I headed up to Center Field to meet my friends where we watched the game. The Braves jumped out to score 7 runs in the 2nd inning for a 9-0 lead, so in the middle of the game I took a walk and headed here:

ImageIf you haven’t been to Citi Field yet, if you get the chance, the bullpens are located right near a picnic area where you can interact with the players (if they don’t ignore you). I was sort of zoning out leaning up against the fence watching Avilan warm up. I still had my Braves gear on, and as Avilan was getting called into the game, Bullpen Coach Eddie Perez looked at me, and nodded upwards, so I moved back a bit, and he tossed me this (I didn’t even ask!):

ImageNice. On the way back, a random kid came up to me and asked me how old I was. I told him, and then he offered me one of his beers. I took it to be nice, but I didn’t drink it (it’s NYC, you never know).

I made my way down here towards the end of the game:

Image…but when the game ended, it was dead. As for the game, well..

Image..yep. the Mets suck.

I took one last photo with my friends:

Image… and then we headed to McFaddens/home. Rangers/Yankees Monday. Cool fact: After this game, I have only 1 more team to physically see in person (St. Louis).

Image

  • 3 balls at this game (personal Citi Field record!)
  • 59 career balls
  • 6 straight games at Citi with a ball
  • 8 straight MLB games with a ball
  • Mets record when I attend: 10-15 (1-6 this season)
  • Braves record when I attend: 1-0
4 comments

Leave a Reply

