8/28/12 at Yankee Stadium (TOR @ NYY)

Another day, another ballgame…

ImageAs ridiculous as the Gate 6 lines looked, I headed over to Gate 8 behind center field, and waited about 5 or 10 minutes until I grabbed my “Old School Yankee Pennant” and headed out to left field, which was pleasantly surprising:

ImageThat was it for my section. Here was my view to the right:

ImageLook at all that space. I had so much room to run, but… I just needed someone to hit a ball to me. Chris Stewart came up for what seemed like 20 minutes, and then the Yankees vanished. The Blue Jays came out, and hit nothing that really came my way. I saw a few balls get hit in the section to my left, and some were hit into the bleachers above me. After that, it got really crowded. I’ll save you the time. Kids got toss ups (don’t get me wrong, that’s great – as long as my streak is alive), and nothing was hit towards me. The Jays started hitting towards right field. Until of course, the ushers started kicking people out:

ImageNow that’s more like it. Look. At. Those. Aisles.

Of course, nothing was hit there. Eventually, bullpen catcher Alex Andreopolous walked towards the warning track with several balls in his catcher’s mitt:

ImageIn case you still can’t figure out which guy is Andreopolous, He’s the guy on the left wearing #61.

I got him to toss me up a ball. It felt good to be on the board and keep the streak going:

ImageSweet. Eventually, that was it for BP. I decided to head up to this area:

ImageAnd made my way to the center field cafe area to try and work my magic for “The Harkey”. If you don’t know what this is, refer to my other Yankee Stadium posts, it’s explained there. Here was my spot:

ImageI  had ample space to move around in case he sailed one. But instead, he half-assed the throw off the wall and it ricocheted down to the bleachers and almost hit an old man in the head. Hmph.

I decided to chill for a bit during the game, and managed to notice this –

ImageIf someone could explain to me how Curtis Granderson has 133 home runs with the bases empty but 134 RBIs, that’d be great. Maybe it’s a typo.

Later, Adeiny Heccevarria hit his 1st career homer to right field. And the guy that caught it? …. He gave it back to Right Fielder Moises Sierra in a trade for what was probably a crappy BP ball. For shame. If it was me, I would’ve told Moises that I simply wanted to hand it to him myself.

Moving on… I headed down to here after about the 7th inning:

ImageIt was crowded, but I had one good aisle to run in in case somebody gave one a ride:

ImageBut nobody hit one out. Yankees won the game, 2-1 in a very quick game for two AL East foes. After the game, I met up with the famous Zack Hample, and talked for a good 15 minutes. We talked a bit before the game during BP, both expressing our hate for Yankee Stadium. He managed to snag the bullpen lineup card and was immediately stoked:

Image… as was I. Even though I got only 1 ball,my streak was alive and it was a fun night at the ballpark (That’s what it’s all about, right? Right?).

Image

  • 1 ball at this game
  • 69 career balls
  • 8 straight games at Yankee Stadium with a ball
  • 12 straight MLB games with a ball
  • Yankees record when I attend: 35-21 (9-3 in 2012)
  • Blue Jays record when I attend: 1-7 (0-2 in 2012)
2 comments

Leave a Reply

