9/25/12 at Citi Field (PIT @ NYM)

It was most likely (maybe not) my last game of 2012, and I was spending it here since the Yankees were on the road in Minnesota:

ImageYay.

I ran to the left field bleachers and positioned myself here:

Imageand here was my field view:

ImageThere wasn’t much action to begin with, but there were a few homers. My view to the left was the same as the one to my right in the photo above, so when David Wright hit a home run into the eye black, I ran over to my left, and stood by the edge of the railing. The following picture is an old photo of the eye black, but I’m using it to give you perspective:

ImageSo, obviously, I was standing where the arrow says “me”, and the ball was where… well, yea. I asked the guard if I could go get it since the rumor was you were allowed to go down there. He said no, but then he went down and tossed it up to me for #1 on the day. As he tossed it up, a kid in Pirates gear was running around from the other side of the apple. I guess you’re allowed to run  on to the eye black as long as you don’t go down the Party City Deck. Whatev.

The Mets ran off the field after a whopping 7 minutes. So I took some time to enjoy my free box of Cracker Jack:

ImageYay for free food (Even though it was so old the bag inside was stuck to the box).

Then, the Pirates came out:

ImageLots of homeruns, no action towards me. For some reason, the crowd in BP was immense for a Tuesday night September 25th game between the 75-78 Pirates and the 70-83 Mets. It was just one of those nights. Eventually I was surrounded by kids, then a family of like 24 surrounded me on my left, and I kept barely missing home runs, and I got too fed up. I tried to move myself over here:

ImageNothing. I moved around the corner:

ImageAnnnnnnd nothing. This was quickly becoming a dud.

I headed over by the dugout, when this caught my eye:

ImageI assume this is the Pirates equipment guy, but I’m not sure. But, he was tossing balls to folks in Pirates gear, and wouldn’t you know it……

Image2.

I had some time to kill after BP, so I took some pics:

Image

Image

ImageExciting stuff, I know. The Pirates came out to toss pregame, and I was there:

ImageBut none of them had any baseballs. Eventually, Pedro Alvarez (who would’ve been a GREAT name to add to my list) had a ball in his hand, autographed it and then threw it to a little kid. Dayyyyyum. I sat here during the game:

Image…and spent THREE dollars for my ticket on Stub Hub. HA HA, Mets!!!!

I also got this cool picture of Andrew McCutchen:

ImageLater in the game, I got to see some Mets history:

ImageDavid Wright has really been the only Met I’ve ever liked, so I’m happy for him. I was hoping he’d get up again to break the record, but he didn’t.

I moved over here to try and get a ball from umpire Greg Gibson:

Image…but he gave them to kids (Which is okay).

The Pirates made their way out:

Imageannnnnd nothing.

Final score:

Image

I had set out earlier this year in April to have a personal goal to snag 50 baseballs this season. To start the season, I had 21 career balls. Now, I have 81. I snagged 60. Some people snag this in a  4 game series.  But I’m proud of myself. 2012 has been fun, It’s going to suck big time to wait until 2013. Unless I sneak one more game in this year 😉

Image

  • 2 balls at this game
  • 81 career balls
  • 9 straight games at Citi with a ball
  • 15 straight MLB games with a ball
  • Mets record when I attend: 2-8 in 2012, 12-17 overall
  • Pirates record when I attend: 1-0 in 2012, 1-1 overall
4 comments

Leave a Reply

