5/26/13 at Citi Field (ATL @ NYM)

I initially wasn’t going to go to this game, since I had just gotten back from a very long and tiring baseball trip. The game was an 8:05 ESPN game though, so I had time to hang out during the day beforehand. I was going to the game with my friend Bryan, who if you recall, came with me to Citi last year when I attempted to snag a Shea/Nats Park commemorative. I didn’t, he did. I’m still pissed about it.  😐

Anyway, we were going tonight, and waiting in line outside, I noticed that I didn’t see any N.Y. area ballhawks around. Which is weird, since there’s always usually one. We technically *cut* the line and made our own line at a table where they check your bags, but in a sense, we didn’t. I asked the guard and he said it was ok. Then, a few minutes later, I saw Mateo Fischer come by and we chatted a bit before the gates opened. What I didn’t know was that on Sunday games, season ticket holders can enter a half hour earlier than everyone else. This would explain how Zack Hample caught 9 balls in the 1st half hour of BP. I gotta get on that Sunday ticket thing.

Anyway, we ran inside, and when I got to the left field seats, someone on the Mets hit one to the gap, and Jeremy Hefner fielded it, looked up at me, and tossed me ball No. 1 on the day and I wasn’t inside for more than 30 seconds. Check it out: Image Sweet deal, no?

A few minutes later, the Mets were done and jogged off the field. How anti-climactic. When the Braves came out, I went to right field: Image

That got nowhere quick. There was a group of guys who were drunk and acting stupid so any attempts at anything would just be ignored by the players. I figured I’d try my luck on the Pepsi Porch. The Pepsi Porch can be a risky, yet rewarding move. It takes forever to get there. You have to go around to the right field concourse area, go up an escalator/staircase 2 floors, walk down a ramp/corridor all the way around the back of the stadium, up another staircase, and down a smaller set of stairs to the seats. However, nobody is up there during BP usually, so if a guy reaches there, it’s all yours. I also figured Freddie Freeman, Jason Heyward, and Juan Francisco could tag a few up there: Image And, so you can see what I mean, here was my competition: Image Now I just played the waiting game. A lot of home runs were going exactly where I just was standing on the field level, but hey, that’s gonna happen. Eventually, I got Jonny Venters’ attention down below: Image (he’s the player on the bottom right) And got him to toss me a ball wayyyyyy up to the Pepsi Porch for my second ball of the day. Things were slowing down and a lot of righties were coming up to hit, so I headed back over to left center field: Image …but it was so incredibly loud and crowded that I kinda just hung out there and hoped for a home run to come my way. One didn’t, though, and it was almost game time. I headed over to my usual spot by third base: ImageIt was Memorial Day, so the players came out and lined up in between the armed forces on the field. It was pretty cool to see. After that there was warmups: ImageI came up empty there. Our seats had access to the Caesar’s Club, which I had yet to see since Citi Field opened. It was a pretty chilly night, so we figured that tonight was a good opportunity to check it out: Image That’s the view you get after you enter once you get off the escalator. Once you go through another hallway where someone checks your ticket, you walk into a big lobby: ImageHere you can find an assortment of places to eat, couches, bars, and the likes for your choosing. Here’s another look: Image

This is a great place to go if it’s very cold or there is a rain delay. Otherwise, you are too detached from the game. It just doesn’t feel like you’re at a baseball stadium. We got a quick bite to eat here then headed back to our seats in hopes of a home run: Image But, of course, came up empty.

Final score:

Image

Image

  • 2 balls at this game
  • 106 career balls
  • 26 straight MLB games with a ball
2 comments

  1. bdweingarten

    Nice post. I can relate a lot to what you said. First of all, right field is a place where you’d be pretty lucky to get a ball. Minimal seating, usually packed in crowds, and the homer would have to be a line drive.

    The last time I went to a Mets Game (It was that weird doubleheader where the first one started in the ninth) I attempted to get a ball and shouted a Braves coach name, he looked up, but gave the balls to children in front of me.

    When I left to go to another section, I discovered (with no announcement to go to your seats) from an usher that you couldn’t go back into sections. I was sitting in the Pepsi Porch, so I tried from up there. I got the attention of several players, none responded. I actually have a string that might be long enough to do a cup-trick from up there, but imagine how much attention that would create.

Leave a Reply

