6/24/13 at Dutchess Stadium (BRK @ HV)

On my way to Dutchess Stadium the sky got incredibly dark. I was hoping that the weather would hold off at least for BP, since I took advantage of a special deal the Renegades were having and I had a ticket for a suite for tonight’s game. More on that in a minute. I went around back behind the left field wall, as BP was still going on. Then it proceeded to downpour, thunder, lightning, and hail on me. I took cover under a tree (awesome idea, right?) until the storm passed. I would’ve gotten a shot of the rain coming down (it was impressive), but I didn’t want to risk ruining my camera. After about 10 minutes, the rain passed and I made my way around until I found this guy for ball No. 1 on the night: ImageI continued my way around: ImageWould it kill them to do a little landscaping? Jeez. I found my 2nd home run of the day a little further ahead. Now, the opening night game they were doing post-game fireworks, which were being set up behind the center field wall. I stopped when I got to that point last time, but today there was no fireworks, so I made the full trip around to the right field area: Image(Note the 2012 Champions Flag hung there. Wooot Woot.) I found my 3rd ball of the day there, but it was a weird looking ball. Definitely not a Rawlings ball but perhaps a training ball of some kind. Here it is: ImageI’ll show you a closeup later on. I made it to the right field corner, adjacent to the Renegades clubhouse. Nothing to see here: ImageNothing but a big mud pile, and no baseballs. Now, remember how I mentioned the suite?  Well, yes, I was sitting in a “luxury” suite for tonight’s game. I put luxury in quotation marks because the minor league equivalent of a luxury box is about the equivalent of the Caesar’s Club at Citi Field, except you get free food. Still cool though. The ticket was only 25 bucks, as well. Here’s a shot I snapped as I entered the suite level: ImageAnd here’s the suite itself: ImageNiiice. The most relieving thing of the entire experience was that it was air conditioned. The air was so unbelievably muggy from the thunderstorms that it was pleasant to be in air conditioning. I thought it was pretty nice for 25$. I was waiting for my friend Brian to show up, and from the looks of it, the suite was to ourselves (so far). I spent some time taking photos of the field with the tarp on…which was fine with me because I was inside. Ha HA! I was excited: ImageTired eyes, FTW.

I was reminded of Yankee Stadium (minus the communist-like security) when I was forced to put this on: ImageYet, the game was still delayed. I was curious as to the policy for a rainout if I had a suite ticket on discount. Could I just exchange it for 4 games at 6 bucks a piece for regular seating? Hopefully I wouldn’t have to find out. On my way to the men’s room, I noticed a incredibly large shiny object on this man’s hand. I decided to take a closer look, and: ImageTurns out he was a scout for the St. Louis Cardinals (duh), and he was showing of his bling. How cool is that? The ring was very impressive. The tarp came off finally two hours later… Image

…and to compensate for the wait, the Renegades gave out free tickets for the July 2nd game vs. Aberdeen (which I’m headed out the door to right now). The ‘Gades are awesome.

As for the game:

Image

No bueno. I had plenty of room for foul balls during the game: ImageI narrowly missed out on three foul balls after the 7th inning. But I didn’t get them. I’m so due for a foul ball. I’ll get it soon.

Image

  • 3 balls at this game
  • 110 career balls

It was interesting too, the 2nd ball I got was a Major League Ball. Also, remember that weird ball I was telling you about? Check it out:

ImageThat’s a Wilson A-1030 Ball, used primarily for “High School, Adult Practice and Youth League Play.” How do you think it wound up in there?

Leave a Reply

