4/26/14 at Citi Field (MIA @ NYM)

Sometimes I think I have bad luck. Everytime I buy a season ticket for a Mets weekend game, it either rains or there is no BP. The point of a season ticket is so you can enter a half hour before everyone else does. Usually this means having an entire stadium essentially to yourself. Gate times were opening at 4:40. I met Greg at the gate, and at 4:35, it started raining.

-__-

Greg went home. I didn’t have such luxury, since I live an hour away. So, I went inside, and voila:

101_0708

Yep.

As for me? I was soaked and thrilled:

101_0709

What happened next is exactly why I hate New York stadiums and security. Look at the picture before my angry selfie. See all the people? Well, the usher in my section decided I wasn’t allowed to stand there – I was the only person in the stadium – I was literally standing there looking at my phone – and he had probably the crappiest attitude I’ve ever seen someone have.

Since I had, oh – 2 ½ hours to kill, I walked around the entire park looking for any easter eggs in case either team hit earlier in the day, which sometimes teams do. Here’s a cool shot from the 2nd deck:

101_0710

See the open space next to the foul pole?

Someone else had the same idea as I did, and while I was up taking pictures in the second deck, he found the only easter egg sitting there.

Dayum.

So for the next 2 hours or so, I popped in my ear buds and listened to music while I watched a 15 minute shower pass by and then some clear sky with no rain:

101_0713

Eventually, the Marlins came out, and I set up near Giancarlo Stanton and Christian Yelich:

101_0715

Stanton hooked me up for ball 1 of the night. That felt pretty cool, because I love Stanton. Though, it’d be cooler to catch a BP homer of his.

During the game, it started raining again:

101_0718

So I didn’t have much competition. When Travis d’Arnaud flied out to end the 3rd inning, Yelich tossed me the ball for my 2nd and last ball of the night.

Final score: Marlins 7, Mets 6

2 balls at this game (#’s 196, 197)

Leave a comment