8/17/12 at Yankee Stadium (BOS @ NYY)

I got a ticket for this game for 1 reason and 1 reason only:

I wanted a Fenway commemorative ball. Correction: I NEEDED one. I did not feel like going up to Boston just for one ball. I had some previous obligations to take care of earlier in the day, so I was already in the city. I was actually able to make it to the stadium very early for once, and it felt good. Thus, my journey starts here on 51st Street and Lexington Ave:

Image

I then grabbed the 4 at 59th street, and a few cramped, crowded, sweaty, woman next to yous sweaty armpits minutes later I was here:

Image

I love being there when nobody else is. I normally go inside Gate 6 (Right Field), but since I had the time, I decided to go inside Gate 2 (Left Field). The line was huge, look where I had to stand:

ImageThat folks, is why you leave early. I hadn’t eaten all day, so here is some shameless advertising:

Image

I never eat McDonald’s. Today was an exception. I was going to be running plenty to burn that off. Around 4:45 (gates open at 5), this guy behind me all of the sudden decides to cut me. It was the weirdest thing ever. The lady next to me offered to say something but the guy was old, and honestly, did not look like he would be ballhawking. I would get in eventually just like everyone else. I found it funny though because no matter WHAT I do, I am never  the first on line. Anyway, I got my bag checked and ran in to left field. Here was my spectacular view to my right:

Image… and my gorgeous back/left view:

ImageTHIS IS WHY YOU GO TO GAMES EARLY PEOPLE!!!

When I was checking for easter eggs, I could see that a usher had a ball in his hands. I wasn’t going to ask him for it. The next moment, Andruw Jones blasted a home run that hit off the logo next to the “State Farm” to the right in the above picture. I ran over  a few rows, and before I knew it, 2 minutes in I had this:

ImageIt was the first home run that I snagged that was hit into the seats that wound up into my glove. Very cool. 15 seconds later, Andruw smacked one into the walkway tunnel for the section to my right, so I ran up and snagged it before someone running behind me could get it:

Image… and just like that, 3 minutes in I had 2 balls, both of them hit into the stands and retrieved by me, something I have never done before. Very awesome. They didn’t have Fenway commemorative logos on them, so there was more work to be done. I knew it wouldn’t be this easy for much longer, as the crowd was filing in:

ImageI think it’s funny how everyone swarms to the front row. I’m guilty of this myself sometimes, but you usually have better luck standing back further. I usually do this when I get caught up in trying to get Hiroki Kuroda to toss me a ball. Which he will successfully, someday. 5 minutes later, the Yankees were done. The Sox still were stretching, so I ran over to here:

Image

Where I later got my third ball of the day from Ryan Lavarnway, who was tossing with Cody Ross. I quickly looked at the ball, and there was no logo on it. I moved closer to the cage where Dustin Pedroia was hitting:

ImageI was trying to get his attention because it was his birthday. If he heard me, he might hook me up. But he didn’t.

I avoided trying to go to the field and get a toss up because it looked like this:

ImageSo I stayed back, just in case. It wasn’t much better back where I had started:

Image

I looked over in the bullpen and saw this:

ImageEh. But look closer:

ImageNeeded to be mine.

But, bullpen coach Gary Tuck was being a jerk the whole night and put them back in his bag. I tried asking Jarrod Saltalamacchia and Ryan Lavarnway for theirs:

ImageNothing.

I did take this cool picture of Franklin Morales warming up:

ImageI’ll save you the reading. I did a lot of begging but came up short. The game started, and the rain came:

ImageHere was my view to my right:

Image… and my immediate right:

ImageBlurf. I was commemorative-less, I was soaked, sweaty, and I flat out stunk from sweating for 15 hours. I wasn’t too happy:

Image

Later, Derek Jeter apparently “crushed” his 250th home run.

ImageAnd no, I didn’t catch it. It came close, and then I started dreaming of what I would do if I caught it, as he would want it. Maybe I’d ask for a Fenway commemorative.

I tried every half inning for a toss up, and would not quit. I got Alfredo Aceves to acknowledge me:

Imagein the top of the 9th and he said he’d get me. So I waited. And the game ended. Gary Tuck -___- took the bag with him, so that was that.  So I headed down to the bullpen gate, in hopes of asking the groundskeeper for a ball and hoping it was a commemorative. 5 anguish-filled minutes later….

ImageSA-WEEEEET! (One E for each commemorative) I now had FIVE commemorative balls out of the SIX this year, and I have ONE and only one chance to get it next Saturday when the Astros play the Mets. It was smudged, but hell, I’ll take it. Ironically, a short minute later, Aceves actually came through and threw me a commemorative ball, but it fell short hitting the fence. I was busy high-tailing out of there to catch my Metro-North train, and headed home after a LOOONG day in NYC. Following pic taken on the train:Image

  • 4 balls at this game (Ties personal MLB record!)
  • 64 career balls
  • 7 games in a row at Yankee with a ball (new record!)
  • 10 straight MLB games with a ball (new record!)
  • Yankees record when I attend: 34-21 (8-3 in 2012)
  • Red Sox record when I attend: 5-2 (1-1 in 2012)

Next game: Possibly mid-week Rockies/Mets, otherwise Astros/Mets 8/25 to try and complete the Commemorative Set!

6 comments

  1. ch1088

    Thanks! Saturday should be interesting, I doubt there’ll be any BP day game after a night game. Looking forward to the challenge of completing the collection.

  2. Lori

    Hey there- great site- found you via mlb blogs- as far as Gary Tuck….ahem…he’s a real…..well….let’s just say he wouldn’t even say hi to the 12 year old little leaguers in MInnesota. Last year I went to Target field for a Twins/Sox game. Tried to get a ball from Tuck, no luck—-this year I went to a White Sox /Red Sox game in Chicago, Bob McClure tossed me a commemorative Fenway ball before Tuck came out to the pen….too bad he got the axe.

    • ch1088

      Thanks for the comment, welcome! I hope you enjoy the blog. As for Tuck, I always read about how great he is with his catchers, but… He’s got the personality of a wet mop.

Leave a Reply

